Thunder Repeat as WLA Champs

Aug 30, 2012

The Langley Thunder have repeated as Western Lacrosse Association Champions after a convincing 9-5 victory over the Coquitlam Adanacs in Game 6 of their best of seven series. Langley will now travel to Peterborough to take on the Lakers in the Mann Cup – Canada’s Lacrosse Championship (which was hosted at the LEC in 2011). The Adanacs put up a strong fight all series, but the Thunder’s talent was too much when all was said and done.

“It was great to win last year after all of the hard work to get to that point, but this year is such a great feeling and validates everything,” Team Governor Rob Buchan said that despite all the talent, his club worked extremely hard to get to the Mann Cup again.

Lewis Ratcliff was named playoff WLA MVP. The Thunder would like to thank all of their fans, sponsors and volunteers for another great year and congratulate Coquitlam on a hard fought series. You can follow all of the Mann Cup final results on Twitter@LangleyThunder, which starts September 7 in Peterborough. The complete schedule is as follows:

Game 1 September 7 8:00PM (EST)

Game 2 September 9 7:00PM (EST)

Game 3 September 10 8:00PM (EST)

Game 4 September 12 8:00PM (EST)

Game 5* September 14 8:00PM (EST)

Game 6* September 15 7:00PM (EST)

Game 7* September 16 7:00PM (EST)

*if necessary

Category: Langley Thunder